E-3 Visa

The E-3 status applies only to Australian nationals coming to the U.S. for employment in a specialty occupation. The specialty occupation must require highly specialized knowledge and a bachelor's degree or higher. The initial period of stay for E-3 holders is two years, with up to two years per extension and no maximum number of extensions, with some exceptions.

E-3 Qualifications

  • Must be an Australian national
  • Must have an offer of employment in the U.S.
  • Must possess the necessary academic or qualifying credentials
  • Must fill a position in a specialty occupation

Applying for an E-3 Visa from Within the U.S.

You must file Form I-129, Petition for Nonimmigrant Worker, to apply for a change of status to or an extension of stay in the E-3 category. Your Form I-129 should include:

  • A Labor Condition Application (LCA) which supports the E-3 classification
  • Academic or professional credentials proving qualifications for the position
  • Job offer or other documentation from employer establishing that the job is a specialty occupation and that you will be paid the higher of the actual or prevailing wage
  • If required, you must have the necessary license or other official documentation necessary to practice the specialty occupation

Period and Extension of Stay

The initial period of stay is 2 years. You may extend your stay up to 2 years per extension. There is no maximum number of extensions, with some exceptions.

E-3 Family Visas

Spouses and unmarried children under 21 are eligible for dependent E-3 classification. Children of E-3 workers may not work in the U.S. However, spouses may request an employment authorization document to present to employers as evidence of identity and employment authorization.

Contact Us Today

We serve clients throughout the United States including New York and New Jersey and in the following localities: New York City; Albany County including Albany; Dutchess County including Poughkeepsie; Erie County including Buffalo; Monroe County including Rochester; Nassau County including Mineola; Onondaga County including Syracuse; Orange County including Goshen; Putnam County including Carmel; Rockland County including New City; Suffolk County including Riverhead; Ulster County including Kingston; Westchester County including White Plains; Bergen County including Hackensack; Essex County including Newark; Hudson County including Jersey City; Middlesex County including New Brunswick; and Union County including Elizabeth. Attorney Advertising.