EB-2 Visa

National Interest Waiver (NIW)

One of the ways you may qualify for an EB-2, employment-based second preference immigrant visa, is to receive a National Interest Waiver. In general, the second preference immigrant visa process requires a job offer from a potential U.S. employer and the filing of an alien Labor Certification Application with the U.S. Department of Labor. Aliens seeking a National Interest Waiver are requesting that the need for a Labor Certification be waived because
having the alien work permanently in the U.S. is in the country's national interest. If approved, the foreign worker could enter the U.S. without a job offer.
Though the jobs that qualify for a National Interest Waiver are not defined by statute, National Interest Waivers are usually granted to those who have exceptional ability and whose employment in the United States would greatly benefit the nation. Those granted a National Interest Waiver may self-petition (they do not need an employer to sponsor them) and may file their Labor Certification directly with USCIS along with their Form I-140, Petition for Alien Worker.


You must meet 3 of the following criteria AND show that it is in the national interest that you work permanently in the United States. Criteria, of which you must meet 3:

  • Official academic record showing that you have a degree, diploma, certificate, or similar award from a college, university, school, or other institution of learning related to your area of exceptional ability
  • Letters documenting at least 10 years of full-time experience in your occupation
  • A license to practice your profession or certification for your profession or occupation
  • Evidence that you have commanded a salary or other remuneration for services that demonstrate your exceptional ability
  • Membership in a professional association(s)
  • Recognition for your achievements and significant contributions to your industry or field by your peers, government entities, professional or business organizations

Note: Other comparable evidence of eligibility is also acceptable.


The spouse and children (under the age of 18) of the EB-2 holder may be admitted into the U.S. in E-21 and E-22 immigrant status, and the principal applicant may petition for an Employment Authorization Document (EAD) for his/her spouse during the permanent residence status application process.

What constitutes the National Interest?

Again, there is no statue which defines what the term national interest constitutes, but court decisions have established a list of factors which show that a prospective permanent resident's admission would be in the national interest. The factors include:

  • The alien's admission will improve the U.S. economy
  • The alien's admission will improve wages and/or working conditions for U.S. workers
  • The alien's admission will improve educational/training programs for U.S. children and under-qualified workers
  • The alien's admission will improve health care
  • The alien's admission will provide more affordable housing for young, aged, or poor U.S. residents
  • The alien's admission will improve the U.S. environment and lead to more productive use of national resources
  • The alien's admission is requested by an interested U.S. government agency

Contact Us Today

We serve clients throughout the United States including New York and New Jersey and in the following localities: New York City; Albany County including Albany; Dutchess County including Poughkeepsie; Erie County including Buffalo; Monroe County including Rochester; Nassau County including Mineola; Onondaga County including Syracuse; Orange County including Goshen; Putnam County including Carmel; Rockland County including New City; Suffolk County including Riverhead; Ulster County including Kingston; Westchester County including White Plains; Bergen County including Hackensack; Essex County including Newark; Hudson County including Jersey City; Middlesex County including New Brunswick; and Union County including Elizabeth. Attorney Advertising.